India retain Border-Gavaskar trophy

With a win in Melbourne, India now leads 4 match series 2-1 and being previous winner means India retain Border-Gavaskar trophy. Here is match summary, India 7 for 443 dec (Pujara 106, Kohli 82, Agarwal 76, Rohit Sharma 63 not out) and 8 for 106 dec (Cummins 6-27) beat Australia 151 (Bumrah 6-33) and 261 (Cummins 63) by 137 runs.

Playing is first year in International test cricket, Jasprit Bumrah claimed nine wickets in the match. India had very good match right from day one with good hundred from Pujara, then amazing bowling to bundle out Ausis on 151.It was some scare for India when in second innings, they lost quick wickets and decision of not to enforce follow on was questionable. India managed 106 for 8 and with the lead of 398 it was tough ask for Australia to score 399 in almost 2 days on uneven bounce of Melbourne. India finally managed to bowl Australia out on day 5 for the score of 261.

Images: Hindustan TimesĀ